The University of Georgia received funding from the National Science Foundation to support The Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) Bridge to the Doctorate (BD) Fellowship program. The BD program builds on the university's longstanding Peach State Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation program and the UGA Graduate School’s Gateway to Graduate School Bridge and Graduate Feeder Programs. The award supports 12 dedicated graduate students from underrepresented minority backgrounds who are pursuing graduate studies in science,technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) programs at UGA.

NSF BD Fellowship Benefits:

  • $32,000 stipend per year during the two years of the program
  • $12,000 cost-of-education allowance for tuition, fees, etc. for each of the two years
  • Professional development travel awards
  • BD Fellows meetings and workshops
  • Up to three years assistantship support after the two years of the BD Fellowship program for as long as the student remains enrolled in the degree program and maintains good academic standing (maintains a 3.00 GPA, makes satisfactory progress in the graduate degree program, etc.)

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident
  • Must be admitted to a UGA MS or PhD program in a STEM discipline
  • Must provide evidence of participation in LSAMP undergraduate program
  • Must submit a letter of recommendation from undergraduate LSAMP program director or designee